Will there be solitaire in the world to come?

Image
I’m already assuming that there is a new world to come. I’m certain of it. What I’m not so sure about is what it will look like, what the scent of grass will evoke, or the touch of other human beings. Will the woman who’s been abused all her life by men be finally able to embrace her brothers in Christ without any tremors or doubts about their intentions? How will the formerly hungry react to the tree of life, which yields its fruit regularly and banishes even the thought of starvation? And how will we be towards others when all traces of our selfishness and pettiness are taken away? The formerly rich toward the formerly poor? I can’t even imagine.
A little while ago I posted something on Facebook, asking people if there would be solitaire in this perfect world Jesus is going to bring about. Perhaps it was a silly question, phrased simply, but I did have a very serious thought behind it. One of the things about us is that we are broken relationally. In terms of how we relate to God (we’re not at peace with Him), ourselves (our thoughts are sometimes unbearable even to ourselves, hence the big business that is mp3 players and such), and other people (we just don’t trust ‘em). It is within this context of existential unease with everything and everyone that we have created the game called solitaire. Hours of endless, mindless fun. Alone. Well, mindless in the sense that there is no tangible good that comes of the exercise, as far as I can see.
Don’t get me wrong- I love solitaire, in all its manifestations. I can play it for hours on end. And don’t think I’m one of those people that think that whatever we have made in this world post-Genesis 3 is of necessity bad. No. I just wonder if in a world of perfect relationships, solitude and its accompaniments will have a place. Again, not knocking being alone. Those who know me know I love my alone time, more so than most people. But many of my reasons for wanting to be alone stem from wanting to run away from people or from God, and sometimes even myself. I’m asking the question of solitude since that is my default posture, but the same question can be asked of those who party to rid themselves of the chance of spending time with themselves. Will such people learn how to party in a sanctified fashion, a way which doesn’t work to silence their thoughts that may be accusing them, but in a way that glorifies God, realises their own humanity and that of others around them? So I ask, “Can solitude and solitaire be sanctified, or are some things beyond all redemption?”
2 thoughts on “Will there be solitaire in the world to come?

    1. Keep pressing in and think about it 🙂 What dysfunctions do you see in yourself, and what would it look like to be in a world where they and their effects are entirely absent? That’s what sparked this particular blog entry.

Leave a Reply

